AUTHOR: Kiera Cass

Genre: Fiction, Dystopian, Young Adult (YA/NA) Fantasy

Series: The Selection #2

Year Published: 2013

Pages: Hard Cover,336

COVER: Gorgeous again…

PLOT:

Without beating around the bush, I’ll just say that the plot is more or less the same as THE SELECTION #1 with more Frustrating Version of America Singer…

She’s The Epitome Of Inconsistency

She’s still the same if not more infuriating and is yet to come to her senses. Every damn time America justifying her confusing feelings towards Maxon and Aspen got me ………,,,

ezgif.com-gif-maker (1)

*I had a bump on my forehead because of the frequent facepalms.*

A convo between America and Aspen:

Aspen: Do you think I’m smart?

America: Of course

Aspen: That’s because I am.

America: I feel like I’ve hurt you so much. I don’t understand how you can still possibly be in love with me

Aspen: The sky is blue, the sun is bright, and Aspen endlessly loves America…

I’m sorry if I’m unable to understand the depth of her feelings…please, I really couldn’t take them.

And just because readers loved the dresses on the covers doesn’t mean you go and explain every damn detail of every dress every girl wears in the palace.

And this is me pretty much throughout the story

 

And it’s not like everything in it is bad,

ON A POSITIVE NOTE,

There were a few moments -like the one in the ‘secret room’-which were actually GOOD, ‘few’ being the keyword here.

Color me shocked when America says something which actually makes sense and it actually happened a few times.

The Rebel Attacks and their issues are yet to be resolved. That might be one of the interesting things to look for in the next book.

As for the characters,

I don’t want to talk anything else about America. Sorry!

I mentioned that I didn’t like Aspen much in THE SELECTION #1 , and that hasn’t changed, in fact let me as well confess now that I mentally kicked Aspen a few times.

All America and Aspen fans over there, Please Forgive me for this.

I would say, Prince Maxon is the only saving grace of this book. He is Awesome as usual.

 

RATING: 1.5/5   

 

Now that The Elite is finished, will I read THE ONE  (The Selection #3)?  *sighs*  I have to… and if by chance it turned out to be something like:

Maxon being killed,

America, The One and so The Queen and

this Aspen guy as The King…?!

I swear, I’ll never be able to forgive myself for reading this and giving it even a 1.5/5.

To find out what happens, I don’t have any other option other than reading The One.

In the meanwhile, You can dive into this- The Elite I mean-if you want *sighs*.

