RATING: #DNF 

AUTHOR: Jennifer Niven

Genre: YA Fiction

Pages: Hardcover, 378 pages

Review:

“The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.”

After all the hype surrounding this book, even though I was a bit skeptical about it,  I was immediately drawn to it with that one sentence. I was like, Common Girl! Who wouldn’t love this?

So, I started reading it. And guess what? Yeah! You’ve already seen the rating… I didn’t-couldn’t- finish this.

You must be thinking, “Don’t give a review if you haven’t finished reading it”. I know, I know, I understand what you’re trying to say but,

I can’t, for the life of me, finish this book.

“Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.”

So, A boy with suicidal tendencies and a girl in depression. One might expect an aching #ERC, heart-wrenching, page-turning, gripping lovestory. But I’m sorry to break it to you,  it isn’t any of those. It wasn’t exhilarating, it was agitating; Bored me to death; Highly Overrated.

Image result for boring read gif

It is neither an emotional read nor a joyous read. You can probably say it is a love story though, but I can’t tell you if you’re right, coz, Hello! remember? I didn’t finish it. Even Skimming, being one of my the best talents, couldn’t help me in completing this book.Most of the scenes were just without any proper start or a proper ending. I couldn’t connect with the characters how much ever I tried. And trust me, I really tried. Half of the things didn’t even make sense. I don’t know what the future holds for them. Violet can smack him upside the head or even kill him for all I care. *Haters gonna hate.*

So, that’s it for now. I don’t even want to waste your time deprecating it any further. If by chance, I mean it, “by chance”,  somehow, I happen to read this again,  I’ll definitely update this. *that’s probably gonna happen only when I’m stuck in a yacht in the middle of an  ocean with only this book in my hands… and I don’t see that coming in the foreseeable future*

And I’m no one to tell you what not to read.*coz, I hate it when someone does that* . So, dive into the book if you want to. And after completing it, please tell me if there’s something seriously wrong with me or its just the book….

Please don’t compare this with “Eleanor and Park” for heaven’s sake.

 

 

 

 

