Image result for 5 stars

AUTHOR: Amy Harmon

Genre: Historical Fiction, God, Forbidden Romance, World War

Series: Standalone …

Published:  December 1st 2016 by Lake Union Publishing

Pages: 386

Plot:

Backdrop—Italy, during World War II.

Meet BATSHEVA ROSSELLI- Our EVA…

24 March, 1944

Confession: My name is Batsheva Rosselli, not Eva Bianco, and I am a Jew. Angelo Bianco is not my brother but a priest who wanted only to protect me from the very place I now find myself.

And seems like you’ve already met ANGELO BIANCO…

As children, Eva Rosselli and Angelo Bianco were raised like family but divided by circumstance and religion. As the years go by, the two find themselves falling in love. But the church calls to Angelo and, despite his deep feelings for Eva, he chooses the priesthood.

Priesthood is not just the only thing that makes this a Forbidden Love Story. Nay. There are a lot more bigger issues than this.

Eva is a Jew and Angelo is not. And if you are thinking about their families not agreeing to this? Nay. That’s not the issue.

During World War II, Germany occupies much of Italy, placing the Jewish population in grave danger. This is definitely a bigger issue…Aye!

Untitled.png

Now, more than a decade later, Angelo is a Catholic priest and Eva is a woman with nowhere to turn. She has lost her love when Angelo chose priesthood. She’s lost her dear ones because of all the Laws against The ebrei. The Jews. Now, she has no option other than using a false ID and hiding within the walls of a convent with the help of Angelo. There, she discovers that she’s just one of many Jews being sheltered by the Catholic Church. But is that safe? Can she hide quietly and wait for deliverance while Angelo risks everything to keep her safe? No. She can’t. Rebellion was always her biggest ally.When fear took her reasons for fighting, rebellion gave them back.

With the world at war and so many in need, Angelo and Eva face trial after trial, choice after agonizing choice, until fate and fortune finally collide, leaving them with the most difficult decision of all.

Review:

I’ve always been a fan of Amy Harmon’s works. But this? This is just not a book. It’s a PIECE OF ART.

This story held my attention from start to finish. It was Captivating. It was exquisite and wonderfully written. It was achingly beautiful and poignant. An intense #ERC.

I thought I knew what I was signing up for before I read this. *scoffs* I couldn’t be more wrong. I could never forget reading this. So many beautiful moments. I could relate to each and everyone of the characters.I wept for them; prayed for them; suffered along with them; hoped for love when they lost everything they have. And it was worth the Happy Tears I had at the end.

Image result for happy tears reaction

Most importantly, I got to know God from many perspectives and then, I figured, as AMY HARMON said, GOD is all the same, no matter what the perspective is. He wouldn’t be GOD if he was only God to some of his children…would he? It doesn’t matter how we pray, if our devotion is pure, if our love for leads us to love, serve, forgive and be better.” 

@AMY HARMON… I’m Speechless… Every time I read a book of yours, I feel like it’s your best and then you go and write something more wonderful. And the most important thing is you don’t stick to just one genre. Contemporary-Check. Paranormal- Check. Fantasy- Check. And now Historical Romance. Good God! I love that you’re exploring these many and giving us such beautiful pieces of art. The research you did for this book is commendable. I didn’t even have the slightest idea of what those people went through during WWII before reading this. Keep Writing such masterpieces.

Image result for standing ovation gif

QUOTES:

“Loving someone and then losing them would be much worse than not having them at all.” –Eva

“God’s heart is big enough for all of mankind, yet mine can’t be big enough for two?”- Angelo

“Life is hell shot with just enough heaven to make the pains of hope all the sharper. Life is impossible. Ugly. Agonizing. Inexplicable. Torture.”

“Fear is strange. It settles on chests and seeps through skin, through layers of tissue, muscle, and bone, and collects in a soul-size black hole, sucking the joy out of life, the pleasure, the beauty. But not the hope. Somehow, the hope is the only thing resistant to the fear, and it is that hope that makes the next breath possible, the next step, the next tiny act of rebellion, even if that rebellion is simply staying alive.”

I could gush on about Amy Harmon and this book for days. But I want you to go and read this book. So, I’ll stop now and let you read. What are you waiting for? Go, get the book, if you haven’t already and Dive into it. I’m going for a re-read.

RATING: 5/5

 Image result for 5 stars

